Radish Side Salad

I don’t think this one can be added as a truly prepared recipe post, neither photo shoot done, because it was all about me taking the very first snaps using my brand new lenses. Shots taken just like that, very random takes indeed. Later on I thought I still could use them and why not?

So, if anyone ever wondered whether radishes can be eaten warm as well, here you are, give it a go!

DSC_7526 e X wm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I used what I had on my kitchen table top at that exact moment. Two bunches of fresh radishes. There was also a bunch of fresh asparagus somewhere in the fridge, ready to be used as sides for our dinner later on. See the picture of the side salad lower.

I think I didn’t even use a diffuser. I liked the fresh vegetables and couldn’t wait to try the new glass. I used darker and brighter backgrounds to compare. Shot the ready made salad afterwards. End of the story.

DSC_7587 eX wm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I never really had the habit of eating radishes warm. The most usual way to enjoy them in my old home country was, and I guess still is, served sliced – thinly or in quarters, or pretty zig-zagged halves, simply salted Β and served with another meal, and with simple buttered sour dough slice most often.

Nowadays I got used to eating them warm, too, and it is also lovely. I think it makes them much milder, and it softens them. I am always careful not to cook them for too long though.

DSC_7614 e X wm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bring a pan of water to boil, then add washed radishes, tops and bottoms trimmed, and cook for 2 – 3 mins max. Turn the heat off and quickly drain and place the radishes under cold water – this will prevent them from ongoing cooking while still hot inside.

When they cool down a bit, halve them or slice them into shapes that will suit your salad.

DSC_7601 e X

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mix extra virgin olive oil with few splashes of balsamic vinegar, drizzle the radishes and give them a nice toss.

Serve straight away!

 

2 thoughts on “Radish Side Salad

  1. What is a fancy new lens that you are playing with, lady? πŸ™‚
    I am the same way though. I have had so many unexpected photo shoot, just because the ingredients are beautiful or the new equipments etc. Nevertheless, I love your radishes photos here. xoxo

    • I’m so glad you stopped by, dear Pang! πŸ™‚
      The lenses I used, as the very first shots made with them was my new 50 mm / f/1.4 and a 105 mm macro, which I see will need to take a lot practise with. But so far I’m very happy with both.
      Yes, the shoot happened just by seeing the beautiful veg and I couldn’t resist – both the veg and the new gear arrivals πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

