Peach Melba Roulade

I made a roulade! A fruit roulade. A very summery roulade. A roulade with raspberries and peaches. A roulade filled with cream.

It didn’t crumble, it didn’t collapse and didn’t last around long either.

DSC_1278 e-001

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It couldn’t have been any simpler. Finally!

At last, some kind of a roulade even I was able to make.

To be very fair though, I need to mention that I didn’t roll it to its full – and that was for the amount of fruit and cream filling. I suggest to anyone who would like to give it a try – because it really is lovely, use less fruit & cream. If you don’t mind the shape so much, go ahead with the suggested amounts.

I also didn’t use raspberry but passion fruit coulis. It gave the roulade a true summer kick. Beautiful!

I also used quality vanilla paste instead of vanilla essence. Vanilla feels just like some final soft touch, like a stamp of approval.

However, as you can see, when you compare my photo with the picture in the original recipe, my sponge doesn’t look so light although I followed the recipe very closely. Hope practice makes perfect even in this case.

The thing is, all of my roulades so far – with the exception of meat roulades – ended up in the baking dish, usually crumbled, or on trays, sliced into squares. I am not the roulade person, not in making them.

The worst of my creations so far that I remember was one of the chocolate Yule logs.. totally crumbled, topped with cream and the rest of goodies, served as a dessert in a glass.

Therefore my excitement about this Peach Melba Roulade – which not only was really fine to make, but tasted light and lovely, perfectly complementing one of our summer Sunday afternoons.

Photographic note: the challenge was to capture how fresh, sweet and fruity it is – I used a card to block the light on the left (my light source was on the left and from above) to ensure the texture of the sponge is visible, and silver reflectors to bring out the fruit juice.

Food styling note: when shooting cream roulades – be very careful about the exact spot where you start to slice – it should show all it contains, e.g. fruit & cream, but should not look too messy and smudged- and that is a bit challenging, too. I used tweezers to rearrange the fruit in my slice as I wished. Also, it was not the only slice, I had to do more because of what I’ve just mentioned above – it would be quite fantastic if one could see inside the roulade before slicing it!

Good luck with your baking and picture taking.. Happy summer days, everyone!

 

The original recipe to this lovely roulade can be found here:
http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/2257639/peach-melba-roulade

 

2 thoughts on “Peach Melba Roulade

  1. Thank you SO MUCH for the tips on food styling & food photography, Miriam 🙂
    I have no doubt that it would not last long because it did look SO DELICIOUS. Someday I will persuade myself enough to make this and devour it with my hubby; until then, I am just going to enjoy your photo 🙂

Leave a Reply

