Asparagus Quiche

This recipe became an instant family favourite, and despite having come across it quite recently, I made it a couple of times already, and we liked it every single one of them, both warm or cold.

Asparagus is coming into its season, so don’t hesitate and give this lovely dish a go.

DSC_9952 e

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have tried a couple of nice recipes these days which I would love to share more often here. However, our smallest of family members keeps me more than busy so to say, and I have quite restricted time options, that regarding my food / photo work. I truly hope though, you understand. Wink.

This one doesn’t take that much to prepare, and a good thing is, it cooks in the oven, so I can give all that needed attention to my little one.

You need a 375 g ready – rolled shortcrust pastry, that you place in a tart baking tray or tin (20cm) – it is wonderful, that you don’t need to do any extra baking paper lining as the pastry is rolled in its own, so you just cut the round shape out. If you do not have baking beans, use another stone baking tray, just smaller, and bake the pastry in a preheated oven (to 180ºC fan) for 10 minutes.

After that, remove the beans, or the tray if you use it, and bake for another 5 minutes, on a lower heat though (160º C fan).

For the filling you need:

150 – 200 g asparagus spears

3 tbsp olive oil

150 g soft cheese

a handful of fresh thyme leaves

80 – 100 g grated mature cheddar cheese ( I like to use Red Leicester)

2 eggs

150 ml creme fraiche

salt, black pepper

Place 150 – 200 g asparagus spears into a hot pan, drizzle with olive oil. Use smaller, young asparagus, not the longer tougher spears. Cook for 4 – 5 minutes, turn them all at half time, or keep turning them more frequently – I do that to have the spears grilled – like all around the stalks, not just two sides. Be quite gentle here, you don’t want them broken for your quiche.

Spread 150g soft cheese over the pastry ( I use full fat cheese), sprinkle with a handful fresh thyme leaves (thyme doesn’t really need chopping – as it says in the original recipe – what I do, is that I always simply keep the thyme twigs among my fingers and pull in anti-grow direction – ending up with a whole little pile of leaves on my hand ready to sprinkle over anything.. I do not chop thyme).

Sprinkle with a bit of freshly – ground black pepper and then, evenly, 80 – 100g grated mature cheddar cheese. I also used Red Leicester and it was just lovely, also adding some vibrant colour to my quiche.

Now place the asparagus spears all over the cheese, make your own pattern – I just placed them soldier style – one by one, and some around, simple.

Beat 2 eggs and 150 ml creme fraiche together, season to your liking – salt and pepper again. Pour the mixture over the cheese and asparagus layer – at this point you may also need to spread the egg mixture among the spears to have the surface more even, or, make your asparagus a bit more visible – I like that.

Then place in the oven and bake for another 30 minutes, or until golden.

Enjoy!

The original recipe can be found in “Sainsbury’s Cookbook Volume One”, © 2015 Dorling Kindersley Limited – which I found a source of nice recipes, coming handy especially for those who like to shop there. Recipes that I have tried so far were quite simple to make and always came out lovely, a book of a good value.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Asparagus Quiche

Leave a Reply

